A Photo Gallery of 4th UHS Annual Conference
Held in London, United Kingdom, October 31 - November 2, 2003
Compiled by Peter Ekeh. Photographs taken by Helen Ekeh, Perkins Foss, and Patrick Okene.
Chief S. S. Obruche
Simpson Obruche was central to the organizations of the 4th UHS Annual Conference. He was Chair of the UK & Belgium Organizing Committee. Financially and in terms of time outlay, he spent large resources in preparing for the 4th Conference. He participated fully in alls sessions of the Conference. At the Closing Ceremony, Simpson Obruche received a plaque honouring his services to Urhobo Historical Society.



Photo Gallery Home Page

Opening Ceremony

Academic Sessions

Cultural Evening

Closing Ceremony

Women at the Conference

Igbe Dance

Senator David Dafinone

Governor James Ibori

Deacon Gamaliel Onosode


Chief Godwin Ogbetuo

Professor Bruce Onobrakpeya

Professor Frank Ukoli

Dr. Emmanuel Urhobo

Chief Daniel Obiomah

Andrew Edevbie

Chief Simpson Obruche


Chief Perkins Foss


Professor Ajovi Scott-Emuakpor


Professor Isaac James Mowoe


Very Rev. Prof. Sam Erivwo


Dr. Helen Ekeh


Dr. Rose Aziza

Mr. Ejiro Ughwujabo

Dr. Aruegodore Oyiborhoro

Professor Michael Nabofa

 Chief J. M. Barovbe

Ms Janet Oromafuru Eruvbetere

Dr. Francis Omohwo

Mr. Love Ojakovo

Chief Albert Metitiri

Alice Ukoko

Peter Ekeh

Jude Onakpoma

Dr. Ona Pela

Mrs. Felicia Emesiru-Akusu









Obruche introduces members of the UK & Belgium Organizing Committee at the Opening Conference.

A moment of consultation for Simpson Obruche at the Cultural Show.

Helen Ekeh reads the UHS citation for Chief Obruche's services. Professor Isaac Mowoe, Conference Chair, looks on.

Mrs. Felicia Mesiri-Akusu gives UHS award to Simpson Obruche.

S. S. Obruche Displays his award

Mr. & Mrs. S. S. Obruche after the Closing Ceremony. Victoria holds her husband's award.