Association of 
Nigerian Scholars 
for Dialogue
                 Wilberforce Conference on Nigerian Federalism

About the Editor and Contributors


Peter Ekeh is a 1964 graduate of the University of Ibadan. He did his graduate work in sociology at Stanford University and the University of California, Berkeley. After teaching for some three years at the University of California, Riverside, and spending a year as a founding Fellow of the Centre of Social and Economic Research, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, he returned to the University of Ibadan in 1974. Among several positions at Ibadan, Peter Ekeh served as the fourth Head of the Department of Political Science and Chairman of the Ibadan University Press. He came to the United States as a Fellow of the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars in 1988. In 1989 he joined the faculty of the State University of New York at Buffalo where he is currently Chair and Professor of its Department of African American Studies. He is the director of the Project of Nigerian Scholars for Dialogue. Peter Ekeh has written widely on Nigerian and African political sociology. He is the co-editor of Nigeria Since Independence. The First Twenty-Five Years. Volume V: Politics and Constitutions (Ibadan: Heinemann Educational Books, 1989) and Federal Character and Federalism in Nigeria (Ibadan: Heinemann Educational Books, 1989).


Pita Agbese, Ph.D. is a 1978 graduate of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. He did his graduate work at Northwestern University. He was a lecturer in political science at the University of Sokoto. Dr. Agbese participated in USAID-funded linkages between four Iowa universities and four Nigerian universities. In addition, he has cultivated research ties with fellow Nigerian scholars at the Universities of Jos and Ekpoma. Dr. Agbese is currently Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of North Iowa.

Joseph E. Inikori, Ph.D., is a 1967 graduate of the University of Ibadan from whose History Department he also received his higher degrees. Dr. Inikori taught for many years at Ahmadu Bello University, becoming Head of its History Department. He was chairman of a Presidential Task Force on the National Question in 1987. Dr. Inikori has been Professor of History and Associate Director of the Frederick Douglas Institute at the University of Rochester, New York, since 1987.

Folu Folarin Ogundimu, Ph.D., is a 1974 graduate of the University of Lagos. He did his graduate work at Indiana University, Bloomington. Dr. Ogundimu is well-known in Nigeria for his work as a reporter, editor, and columnist for several Nigerian newspapers, magazines, and broadcasting stations. He was a Rockefeller Research Fellow at the University of Lagos in 1989. He left Nigeria in 1989. He is currently an Associate Professor, School of Journalism, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan.

Omo Omoruyi, Ph.D., is a 1965 graduate of the University of Ibadan. He did his graduate studies in Political Science at the University at Buffalo. He was Professor and Head of Political Science and Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University of Benin. Dr. Omoruyi was the founding Director-General of the Centre for Democratic Studies at Abuja. He left Nigeria in 1993. He was most recently a Visiting Professor of Political Science at Lincoln University, Pennsylvania.

Ebere Onwudiwe, Ph.D., is a 1980 graduate of the University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma. He did his graduate work in political science at Florida State University, Tellahassee. He has maintained close ties with Nigerian affairs, especially in business and political life. Dr. Onwudiwe was the chief host of the Wilberforce Conference on Nigerian Federalism. He is currently Professor of Political Science and Director of the Center for African Studies of Central State University, Wilberforce, Ohio.

Eghosa E. Osaghae, Ph.D., is a 1979 graduate of the University of Ibadan. He also earned his doctorate from this university in whose Department of Political Science he has taught and worked for many years now. He is well known in Nigeria for his sharp commentaries on current affairs. Dr. Osaghae is currently Professor and Head of the Department of Political Science, University of Transkei, South Africa.

Kole Ahmed Shettima, Ph.D., is a 1983 graduate of the University of Maiduguri. He received M.A. from Ahmadu Bello University and Ph.D. from the University of Toronto in Political Science. Dr. Shettima taught in the Department of Political Science and Administration of the University of Maiduguri (1984-90). He is currently teaching in the Department of Political Science of the University of Toronto.

Pat Ama Tokunbo Williams, Ph.D., is a 1979 graduate of the University of Ibadan from which she also earned her doctorate in political science. She was the Head of Political Science in Ogun State University, Ago-Iwoye. Dr. Williams came to York University in Canada in 1995 on Kathleen Ptolemy Fellowship in the Centre for Refugee Studies where she remains as a specialist on African problems.

Return to Main Page                                                                                                Return to Table of Contents